If you are over TikTok or just want to start fresh with a new account, you can always delete your TikTok account. It just takes a few simple steps to delete your TikTok account. While deleting the account is easy you will be required to have access to certain information to delete the account.
When deleting a Tiktok account you will need to verify your identity with the email or phone associated with your account. If you do not have this information, you will not be able to delete your account. This makes it so your account will not be deleted without your knowledge.
If you have the phone or email associated with the account deleting your Tiktok will be a breeze. If you do not it will be very hard if not impossible to delete your account. This is only to protect you but can be frustrating in some cases. If you have issues, you can always reach out to TikTok. Read on to find out how exactly to delete your TikTok account.
Steps to Deleting Your TikTok Account
If you have access to the email or phone number linked to your TikTok account, you can delete your account with a few steps such as:
1. Open the TikTok app and tap on your profile icon (bottom right) and tap the three dots (top right)
2. Next, tap Manage Account
3. Tap Delete Account
4. You may be asked why you are leaving TikTok, but you can just tap Skip
5. You will have the option to download your data before deleting your account if you prefer, otherwise tick the confirmation box and tap Continue
6. You will be sent a confirmation code
7. This is the final confirmation. Tapping Delete on this page will complete the delete of your TikTok account.
Can a Deleted Tiktok Account Be Recovered?
When you delete your TikTok account it is just deactivated for thirty days before completely being deleted. This is for several reasons, but the main reason is incased you change your mind you know it is still there. Then after thirty days your account is no longer taken up space and your username is let go.
If you change your mind about deleting your Tiktok account and catch it before the thirty days are up, you will be able to recover your full account. However, once it is wiped from their database there will be no getting it back.
Steps to Recovering a Deleted Tiktok Account
If you would like to recover your deleted TikTok account and it has been under thirty days, you only need the email address and password to your old account. Follow these steps:
- Open the TikTok app
- Tap the profile icon (bottom right corner)
- Tap Sign Up
- Tap Log In
- Enter your username, email, or phone number
- Tap Reactivate
With those simple steps, your account will be recovered. If you deleted it again the thirty days start over again. If your account is deleted for other reasons such as violating TikTok user agreements, you may not be able to recover it. You will need to reach out to TikTok to see if they will allow you to reactivate your account or start a different account.
Can You Have More Than One Tiktok Account?
To open a TikTok you need an email and a phone number to help be able to get access to the account unless you were to forget your password. If you do not have an extra email or phone number, you won’t be able to get a second account.
You can however create a secondary account that you can use if something happens to your main account. Tiktok allows you to add accounts to your existing account with a few steps:
- Click on your profile
- Tap Add Account
- Enter the information of your second account
You will be able to go back and forth between both accounts on your profile at any time. Sometimes accounts have something called shadowban happen. This means the account is blocked from allowing users to see the videos, but the owner isn’t aware of the ban.
If you have a second account, you can keep making videos. However, it’s probably better to stick to TikTok guidelines so you are not at risk of having your account deleted or banned altogether.
Deleting Your Tiktok Account
If you want to delete your Tiktok account, you will need to follow the few steps mentioned in this article. It is very easy to do and not exactly permanent for the first thirty days. If you choose to recover your account this article will also be quite useful. Make sure to decide before the thirty-day mark or your content will be gone forever.