You may want to delete your Reddit account for several reasons, from not wanting to keep being notified of the hundreds of comments you posted to not liking their security. No matter what your reason is, you will be able to delete your Reddit account quite easily.
To delete your Reddit account, you will need to have your current information and log in. You will simply deactivate your account, and your information will be gone for good. Reddit does not deactivate accounts temporarily. Once you click “Deactivate Account,” it is gone.
In this article, you will not only learn how to correctly delete your account but also how to remove your data. This is important as many people do not want to have lingering comments that stick around forever. This can be a good and a bad thing. Read on to find out everything you need to know about the steps to deleting your Reddit account.
Steps to Deleting Your Reddit Account
Deleting your Reddit account is quite easy and only takes a few steps. It is important to mention this will be permanent as you and will not be able to be undone.
Follow these simple steps to delete your Reddit account:
1. Log in to your account
2. Click the drop down arrow next to your username in the top right corner then click User Settings:
3. Go to the very bottom of the page and click the red Deactivate Account:
4. A popup box will appear asking for your Username and Password. Enter your details, tick the I Understand box and then click DEACTIVATE:
5. A last chance confirmation box will now display. This is your last opportunity to cancel the Reddit account deletion process. Proceeding past this point will remove your account.
To delete your account permanently click Deactivate:
Your account will now be fully gone. If you regret deleting your account and hope to be able to reach out to Reddit customers service to restore your account, you may be in for some bad news.
Can a Deleted Reddit Account Be Recovered?
Unfortunately, when you delete your Reddit account, you will not be able to recover it. It doesn’t matter if it was an accident or someone hacked the account to delete it. The information will be gone for good. You will not be able to ever use that username to create a new account either.
Once a name is used, it is unavailable forever. It does not matter if the account is removed or deleted. Other users will not be able to use that username either. This is a good reason not only to create a difficult password but think hard before deleting your Reddit account.
What Happens When Your Reddit Account Is Deleted?
There are a few things that will happen when you delete your Reddit account other than the basic account removal.
First and foremost, your profile will no longer be linked to anything. This includes:
- Cake day
- Comment history
- Post history
- Your avatar
- Your chats
You will lose all access to this information, and your account will not come up in a search but instead show a deleted account message. Your usernames will be unusable.
Are Posts Still Visible After Deleting A Reddit Account?
It is important to know that when you delete your Reddit account, it will be gone. However, your posts will not be. Anything you have ever commented on or posts you have made will stay up. If the reason you are deleting your account is because of something you posted commented getting too much attention, it will not work.
Before deleting your account, if it’s an issue, you will need to delete every post and comment. It is important to note that even though your comments and posts will still be up, your name will not be associated with them any longer.
Using Nuke Reddit History To Wipe Your Reddit Account
It may seem difficult and time-consuming to delete your posts and comments, but thankfully there are ways to do a clean wipe. With any sort of wipe, you can remove posts, but if someone saved the direct link to that post, it could still be seen, unfortunately.
Using a browser extension such as Nuke Reddit History, you can completely wipe everything from your Reddit account. You will need to do this before deleting your account.
You simply click on either Overwrite & Delete All My Comments or Delete All My Posts. This will remove every trace that you were ever on Reddit.
Deleting Your Reddit Account
Unless you use Reddit Nuke, you will not fully remove your posts and comments. Deleting your Reddit account will delete your ties to those comments and posts. It was mentioned a few times but once again, know that even Reddit’s Customer Service will not be able to help recover any deleted account.